On this day on June 16, 1950, President Elpidio Quirino signed Republic Act 525 creating the City of Iligan. Among the witnesses at Malacañang were House Speaker Eugenio Lopez (2nd from left), Congressman Mohamad Ali Dimaporo (who sponsored the bill on the Charter), Dansalan (now Marawi City) Mayor Bato Ali, Mayor Benito S. Ong (first Mayor of Iligan as a city), Sen. Tomas Ll. Cabili and future Congressman Manalao Mindalano.

Read HERE for full text of RA 525.

photo from Explore Iligan

Facebook Comments