In the updated Philippine Development Plan for 2017-2022 prepared by the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), coverage of Metro Cagayan de Oro has now been extended to include the towns of Libertad and Initao in Misamis Oriental while excluding the towns of Libona, Talakag, Baungon, Malitbog and Sumilao in Bukidnon.

Chapter 3 of the said plan states that Metro CDO will now be comprised of the Cities of Cagayan de Oro and El Salvador and the towns of Jasaan, Villanueva, Tagoloan, Claveria, Opol, Alubijid, Laguindingan, Gitagum, Libertad and Initao, all in Misamis Oriental and Manolo Fortich in Bukidnon. The five Bukidnon towns mentioned earlier were previously listed in the initial draft. Iligan City was also identified as a Sub-regional Center.

Here’s the updated coverage.

It will be 2020 in less than two weeks and Cagayan de Oro will just be five years away in becoming the fourth metropolitan center in the country as clearly stated in Chapter 3 of PDP 2017-2022:

By 2025, Metro CDO will become the 4th metropolitan center based on its projected population growth and functional role as a major gateway and trans-shipment hub in Northern Mindanao. It will also remain as a key educational center in Northern Mindanao.

Download Chapter 3 HERE.

Read our previous post about PDP 2017-2022 below.

Facebook Comments