GINGOOG BAY ALLIANCE was named Champion while MACAJALAR BAY DEVELOPMENT ALLIANCE (MBDA) was 1st runner-up in the Networks/Alliances category in the just concluded 7th Para el MAR Marine Protected Area Awards and Recognition held recently at UP Diliman in Quezon City.

Gingoog Bay Alliance won P75,000 while MBDA received P50,000. The biennial event showcases the country’s best-performing marine protected areas.

photo by Marine Protected Areas Support Network
photo by Marine Protected Areas Support Network


Locally-managed MPA:
Champion: Buntod Reef Marine Sanctuary (Masbate City, Masbate)
1st Runner-up: San Pablo de Bauan MPA and Fishery Reserve (Bauan, Batangas)
2nd Runner-up: Ranzo Fish Sanctuary (Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro)

Champion: Gingoog Bay Alliance (Misamis Oriental)
1st Runner-up: Macajalar Bay Development Alliance (Misamis Oriental)
2nd Runner-up: Kabankalan-Himamaylan-Ilog-Integrated-Coastal Area Management Council (Negros Occidental)

Champion: Apo Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (Negros Oriental)
1st Runner-up: Palaui Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (Cagayan)
2nd Runner-up: Batanes Protected Landscape and Seascape (Batanes)
3rd Runner-up: Hundred Islands National Park (Pangasinan)
4th Runner-up: Siargao Islands Protected Landscape and Seascape (Surigao del Norte)

Mangrove Areas:
Champion: Del Carmen Mangrove Site (Del Carmen, Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte)
1st Runner-up: Silonay Mangrove Conservation and Ecopark (Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro)
2nd Runner-up: Bongsanglay Natural Park (Batuan, Masbate)

Facebook Comments