Highly Urbanized Cities Category

The 18th City Council of Cagayan de Oro was recognized as the Outstanding Sanggunian (Council) in the Highly Urbanized Cities category for Region 10 during the Regional Assembly and Local Legislative Awards of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) held March 15, 2019 at the Limketkai Luxe Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City.

The PCL Awards aimed at recognize local legislatures that draft and enact legislations in accordance with the national government’s immediate and long term development goals and policies.

“Local councils can help identify and approve projects that are evidence-based and beneficial to their constituents,” said Department of Interior and Local Governments (DILG-10) Regional Director Arnel Agabe in his keynote message,

Cagayan de Oro City Vice Mayor Joaquin “Kikang” Uy credited the councilors for their collaboration and cooperation in crafting legislation that advanced the interests and welfare of city residents in line with the government’s millennium development goals.

In the past three years, various projects and programs were implemented including the cementing of roads, construction of schools and hospitals, and donation of sports equipment, and even ordinances that concern the environment, among others. Yet all these would not have been done without the approval of the team, the 18th City Council.

Teamwork is crucial in policy development as well as the implementation of various ordinances and resolutions. VM Kikang expressed his gratitude to the 18th City Council who, because of their harmony and strength, have attained the Most Outstanding City Council for Region 10.

The Cagayan de Oro City Council is composed of the following. Presiding Officer – Vice Mayor Raineir Joaquin V. Uy (Presiding Officer);  Zaldy O. Ocon (Presiding Officer Protempore ); Ian Mark Q. Nacaya (Majority Floor Leader-Coalition); Teodulfo E. Lao Jr. (Asst. Majority Floor Leader); Leon D. Gan Jr. (Minority Floor Leader) and Nadya B. Emano-Elipe (Asst. Minority Floor Leader)

Its standing committees and chairpersons are as follows: Agriculture & Fisheries – Annie Y. Daba; Barangay Affairs – Yan Lam S. Lim;  Blue Ribbon – Lordan G. Suan; Economic Enterprises – Ian Mark Q. Nacaya; Education – Suzette G. Magtajas-Daba; Energy – Teodulfo E. Lao Jr.; Environment & Natural Resources – Zaldy O. Ocon; Finance, Budget & Appropriations – Edna M. Dahino; Ways and Means – George S. Goking; Games and Amusement – Zaldy O. Ocon; Health, Sanitation & Health Insurance – Ma. Lourdes S. Gaane; Labor and Employment – Nadya B. Emano-Elipe; Laws and Rules – Ian Mark Q. Nacaya; Police, Fire & Public Safety – Romeo V. Calizo; Public Utilities – Teodulfo E. Lao Jr.; Public Works – Zaldy O. Ocon; Senior Citizens – Leon D. Gan Jr.; Social Services – Reuben R. Daba; Sports & Youth Development – Jay Roa-Pascual; Subdivision and Landed Estate – Dometilo C. Acenas Jr.; Tourism – Jay Roa-Pascual; Trade and Commerce – George S. Goking;  Cooperatives Enrico S. Salcedo; Urban and Rural Poor – Zaldy O. Ocon; Women & Family Relations – Edna M. Dahino; Cultural Communities – Romeo V. Calizo; and, Roads & Traffic Management – Romeo V. Calizo

This is the first time ever that the City Council of Cagayan de Oro has been cited by PCL, which Uy attributed to the unity and collective effort among the members of the City Council; and maintaining critical decision making and interactive discussion in crafting ordinances suited to the needs of the people.

With the award, City Council officials will be among the awardees to attend the PCL’s National Legislative Awards to be held at the Waterfront Hotel in Cebu City in June. (RMB)

Facebook Comments