Students representing Northern Mindanao reaped thirteen (13) individual and six (6) group awards including three first place winners in Reinsie Louisz Daamo of Gingoog City Colleges, Leonet Joy Llagas of Valencia National High School and Gusa Regional Science High School in the recently concluded National Schools Press Conference 2019 held January 28 – February 1 in Lingayen, Pangasinan.

Daamo placed first in Science and Health Writing in Secondary English while Llagas bagged first place in Pagsulat ng Balita in Secondary Filipino. Meanwhile, Gusa Regional Science High School won 1st place in the Online Publishing category in Secondary English.

photo by Zegom Aneres

Only the top 7 placers in each category were recognized in the event which drew hundreds of campus journalists from all over the country. Here’s the complete list of winners from Northern Mindanao.


  • News Writing – 7th – Rian Lawrence Opiala (Philippine Science High School-Baloi)
  • Science and Health Writing – 1st – Reinsie Louisz Daamo (Gingoog City Colleges)
  • Editorial Cartooning – 2nd – Mark Nino Pamutongan (Valencia National High School)
  • Column Writing (Exhibition only) – 5th – Theresa Marie Ragmac (St. Joseph Academy-El Salvador City)
  • Group: Radio Broadcasting – 6th – R10
  • Group: Online Publishing – 1st – R10


  • Pagsulat ng Balita – 1st – Leonet Joy Llagas (Valencia National High School); 7th – Princess Earl Marie Dael (Jasaan National High School)
  • Pagsulat ng Lathalain – 4th – Christel Izhra Jayne Tagallo (Bukidnon National High School)
  • Pagsulat ng Balitang Pampalakasan – 5th – Jezreel Vincent Abiar (Misamis Occidental National High School-Oroquieta City)
  • Group: Radio Broadcasting – 5th – R10
  • Group: Online Publishing – 3rd – R10


  • Photojournalism – 6th- Deric Herald Jomales (Silangit Elementary School-Tangub City)
  • Editorial Cartooning – 5th- Sean Timothy D. Taclob (Calamba Central Elementary School, Misamis Occidental)
  • Group: Radio Broadcasting – 5th – R10


  • Pagsulat ng Lathalain – 4th- Vincent Jeremy T. Barraquias (Xavier University Grade School, Cagayan de Oro City)
  • Pagkuha ng Larawang Pampahayagan – 2nd- Nicky A. Singson (La Salle University, Ozamiz City)
  • Pagwawasto at Pag-uulo ng Balita – 6th- Kristoffe Jay P. Saluaga (Tubod Central Elementary School, Lanao del Norte)
  • Group: Collaborative Desktop Publishing – 6th – R10

View full list of winners in the link below.

Related link below.

Facebook Comments