Cagayan de Oro City is among possible eight new teams from Visayas and Mindanao who have expressed interest in joining the upcoming 2nd season of Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) which starts June 12. This was disclosed by MPBL basketball operations head Zaldy Realubit during a consultation meeting held at Cebu Waterfront Hotel.

Other teams include Cebu, Davao City, Bacolod, and Davao Occidental. More details at Sun Star Cebu HERE.

It can be recalled that Cagayan de Oro first joined a regional basketball league during the defunct Metropolitan Basketball Association (MBA) and featured homegrown players reinforced by ex-PBA players and amateur basketball standouts from Manila. The Canoy-backed team was then called the Cagayan de Oro Nuggets and later on The Amigos.

It was followed by the Misamis Oriental Meteors of then Gov. Oscar Moreno during the Liga Pilipinas run.

The Batangas City Athletics won the inaugural season of the MPBL. The Visayas-Mindanao teams have until May 4 to sign up with MPBL.

Facebook Comments