Voting 11-3-1, the Supreme Court yesterday, July 4, affirmed President Rodrigo Duterte’s proclamation of Martial Law in Mindanao by junking the three consolidated petitions questioning the legality of Proclamation 216 issued last May 23. This was disclosed in a press conference by Supreme Court spokesman Teodoro Te.

The 11 justices who voted to dismiss the petitions are Associate Justices Presbitero Velasco Jr, Teresita De Castro, Diosdado Peralta, Lucas Bersamin, Mariano Del Castillo, Jose Mendoza, Bienvenido Reyes, Estela Perlas-Bernabe, Francis Jardaleza, Samuel Martirez, and Noel Tijam.

photos from

Three justices voted to impose martial law only in Marawi City and nearby areas: Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, and Associate Justice Alfredo Caguioa.

photos from

Only Associate Justice Marvic Leonen voted to grant the petitions.

photo from

Watch the video below (by CNN Philippines).

Facebook Comments