Cagayan de Oro City’s only state-owned university – the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines (USTP) is in a festive mood as it formally launched the amalgamation of the former Mindanao University of Science and Technology (MUST) and Misamis Oriental State College of Agriculture and Technology (MOSCAT) into USTP.

The 3-day event aims to present publicly the newly created USTP through Republic Act 10919, including its well-crafted vision, mission and strategic goals for 2017-2030 towards the fulfillment of its mandate imbued by the culture of excellence and good governance.

Aside from CDO, USTP now has several campuses located in Claveria and Jasaan in Misamis Oriental, Oroquieta and Panaon in Misamis Occidental with the planned main campus and Mindanao Technopark to be located in Alubijid, Misamis Oriental.

The former MUST logo is now temporarily covered with the new USTP logo. Expect the new logo to be installed soon.

USTP administration, students, faculty, alumni and guests were on hand to witness the milestone.

photo by Guiller Valmores Calihat II
photo by Guiller Valmores Calihat II‎

Large tarpaulins of the new logo were installed in various areas in the city prior to the grand launch.

photo by Kim Zugra Allic‎

Meanwhile, the grand launch USTP-Claveria is now underway at the former MOSCAT.

photo by Aleen Rose Galia Abaño

Watch the videos by Project LAKAW below.



From now on, faculty and students and the public in general will have to start referring the school as USTP. It took some time before the public got used to MUST from DonMar (Don Mariano Marcos Polytechnic State College).

Facebook Comments