Cagayan de Oro City celebrated its 66th Charter Day yesterday, June 15, 2016.

On June 15, 1950, then Philippine President Elpidio Quirino signed the Pelaez Bill, creating the City of Cagayan de Oro. Maximo Y. Suniel also took his oath as the first city mayor on the same day.


Photo of the pen together with the original paper document of Republic Act No. 521 – Creating the City of Cagayan de Oro, is in a glass enclosure. Read our original post HERE.

photo by Kim Zaldivar

Facebook Comments