Barangay San Vicente of Sumilao, Bukidnon joins the cast of 20 finalists in the Balay Mindanaw Awards 2016 set to be held on May 27 at the Centrio Mall in Cagayan de Oro City.

This was announced by Balay Mindanaw president and founder Charlito “Kaloy” Manlupig who said the selection of the finalists was based on the outstanding community initiatives, land rights advocacy, resiliency projects, and peace dialogues of the nominated barangays.

San Vicente is the home of the Sumilao farmers, who recently made the headlines when it launched a nationwide campaign caravan for vice-presidential candidate Leni Robredo. This community is among the contenders in the Kaangayan Category for communities with outstanding local capacities in addressing issues of injustice and inequities.

The other two Kaangayan finalists are Barangay Mimbuahan, of Sugbongcogon, Misamis Oriental and Barangay Tubo-Tubo of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur.

Cagayan de Oro’s Barangay Gusa and Barangay Lumbia make up the list of finalists in the Kalambuan Category for communities with outstanding initiatives in addressing poverty towards sustainability and viability.

Barangay Lawaan of Gingoog City and Barangay New Panay of Aleosan, North Cotabato complete the Kalambuan lineup of finalists.

Three barangays from Panay spearhead the company of finalists in the Kalig-on Category for communities that have shown outstanding institutionalization and development of resilient initiatives and preparedness in facing disasters.

Barangay Manipolon of Estancia, Iloilo and Barangays Pinamihagan and Marita of  President Roxas, Capiz compose the Kalig-on finalists along with Barangay Ban-ao of Baganga, Davao Oriental, Barangays Macasandig and Carmen of Cagayan de Oro, and Barangays Mat-e and Tawagan of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur.

Barangays Pagangan and Dunguan of Aleosan, North Cotabato are among the finalists in the Kalinaw Category for communities with outstanding local initiatives in transforming violent conflicts and building peace.

Rounding up the group of Kalinaw finalists are Barangay Diatagon of Lianga, Surigao del Sur, Barangay Tuburan of Cagayan de Oro, and Barangay Mahayahay of Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Lanao del Norte.


The winners will be selected by a council of judges composed of 14 seasoned personalities with solid backgrounds on community development, peace building, disaster management, and human rights and social justice.

Chaired by Edicio de la Torre and co-chaired by Archbishop Tony Ledesma, the Council is made up of Manlupig, Emma Leslie, Gerry Bulatao, Ma. Corazon Llanderal, Jose Noel Olano, Sylvia Paraguya, Ayi Hernandez, Teody Pena, David and Jane Langworthy, Ramon Chua, and Goldy Chan.

The winners will receive a specially-made trophy, which represents Balay Mindanaw’s vision for Mindanao as the bearer of hope and peace, is handcrafted by Jojo Sescon, a renowned international sculptor, environmentalist, photojournalist, and multi-awarded film maker from Mindanao.

The first-ever Balay Mindanaw Awards is part of the Balay Mindanaw’s 20th anniversary celebration.


“Through these awards, we will celebrate local victories in building empowered, sustainable, resilient and peaceful communities,” Manlupig said.

images from Balay Mindanao Facebook page

Facebook Comments