The Balay Mindanaw Group recently launched the first-ever Balay Mindanaw Awards to celebrate its 20th year of existence by recognizing and acknowledging outstanding partner barangays.

Through the awards, we will celebrate local victories in building empowered, sustainable, resilient and peaceful communities,” said President and Founder of Balay Mindanaw, Charlito “Kaloy” Manlupig.

The Balay Mindanaw Awards seeks to recognize citizens’ initiatives of barangay governance to make a difference by working towards equity, development, peace and resiliency.

We wish to recognize community-based and barangay-focused initiatives and best practices. Inspired by their examples, we see our 20th anniversary as the perfect time to give back to our partners,” he said.

All Balay Mindanaw partner barangays, of at least 3 years standing, in the Visayas and Mindanao can be nominated for the Balay Mindanaw Awards.

There are 4 categories for the awards. The Kaangayan Award is for communities that have shown outstanding local capacities in addressing issues of injustice and inequities.

The Kalambuan Award will be given to communities that have shown outstanding initiatives in addressing poverty towards sustainability and viability.

The Kalinaw Award will be presented to communities that have shown outstanding local initiatives in addressing violent conflicts, able transform these conflicts and capable of building peace.

Lastly, the Kalig-on Award will be offered to communities that have shown institutionalized or developed resiliency and preparedness in facing disasters.

The Council of Judges is composed of 13 seasoned personalities with solid grounding on community development, peace building, disaster management, and rights and social justice. The Council is chaired by Edicio de la Torre, co-chaired by Archbishop Tony Ledesma, and joined by Gerry Bulatao, Ma. Corazon Llanderal, Jose Noel Olano, Charlito Manlupig, Sylvia Paraguya, Ayi Hernandez, Teody Pena, David and Jane Langworthy, Ramon Chua and Goldy Chan.

Winners will receive prize packages with a trophy and P100,000.00 cash and may include non-cash prizes such as barangay para-legal training, project development assistance, community peace course, water sky hydrant, ram pump.

The award trophy, which represents the Balay Mindanaw vision for Mindanao as the bearer of light, hope and peace, is handcrafted by Jojo Sescon, a veteran, photojournalist, multi-awarded film maker and a sculptor from Mindanao. The trophy depicts the tri people braced together for unity, enabling communities and inspiring lives.

The nomination process for the Balay Mindanaw Award begins this March 2016. The deadline for nominations is on March 21.

The shortlist of nominees will be announced on April 8 while the finalists will be announced on May 8, the official anniversary date of Balay Mindanaw. The awarding, presentation, exhibition, and celebration will be held in time with the Balay Mindanaw Days celebration on May 26 to 28, 2016.

Facebook Comments