XU releases results of mock polls

[The following are the official results of the mock election organized by the Kristohanong Katilingban sa Pagpakabana – Social Involvement Office (KKP-SIO) through the LIHUK 2016 Network (Lambigit Igsoon alang sa Hiniusang pag-Uswag sa atong Katilingban) in collaboration with the Central Student Government Electoral Commission, and released by the University Communications Office.]

Xavier University’s Kristohanong Katilingban sa Pagpakabana – Social Involvement Office (KKP-SIO), the university’s social advocacy arm, has released the official results of the mock elections held at the XU main campus on Feb 19-20, 2016 for both national and local positions.

Results for the presidential race show Rodrigo Duterte (PDP-Laban) in the lead with 65.13% of votes. He is followed by Miriam Defensor-Santiago (People’s Reform Party) with 13.38%. Mar Roxas (LP) is in third place with 9.31% of votes followed by Grace Poe (Ind) with 6.93%. Jejomar Binay is last with 1.96%. Respondents who voted “none” account for 3.29%. 


Leading the vice presidential race is Leni Robredo (LP) with 27.17%. Bongbong Marcos (Ind) ranks second with 24.23%. Alan Peter Cayetano (Ind) is in third place with 22.76%. Chiz Escudero (Ind) places fourth with 13.87%. In fifth place is Antonio Trillanes IV (Ind) with 6.65%. Gringo Honasan (UNA) is in the sixth spot with 0.98%. Respondents who voted “none” account for 4.34%.


The top twelve in the senatorial race are Migz Zubiri (72.41%), Leila De Lima (61.41%), Francis Pangilinan (60.29%), Frank Drilon (58.82%), Risa Hontiveros (57.28%), Panfilo Lacson (55.74%), Dick Gordon (55.04%), Ralph Recto (52.17%), Sergio Osmeña (49.30%), Manny Pacquiao (36.34%), TG Guingona (33.12%) and Vicente Sotto (31.79%).


Mock election results for city mayor reveal incumbent mayor Oscar Moreno (LP) as the top choice with 42.93% of votes. Rufus Rodriguez (CDP) is in second place with 36.41%. Vicente Emano (Padayon) ranks third with 10.85%.In fourth and fifth places are Ric Saarenas (Ind) and Felix Borres Jr (Ind) with 1.12% and 0.21%, respectively. Respondents who voted “none” account for 8.40%.


In the race for vice mayor, incumbent vice mayor Ian Acenas (UNA) is in first place with 35.64%. In second place is Roger Abaday (CDP) with 28.15%. Rainier Joaquin Uy (LP) places third with 13.24%. Respondents who voted “none” account for 22.97%.


The mock elections aimed to advocate among the electorate the need to do more research on the profile of candidates. It also hoped to foster the desire for active participation, and open and critical pursuit of the truth, as well as help build the political maturity of the electorate in XU.

The activity was held from 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM in two venues identified as mock precincts: XU Peace Park and Faber Hall Lobby. It made use of an electronic voting system designed by the Central Student Government Electoral Commission. It was open to all XU college and post-graduate students, faculty and staff. A total of 1,428 members of the XU community participated in the mock elections. This represents approximately only 10% of the total population at the main campus. Of the total voters, 60.50% are COMELEC registered. An analysis of the voting behavior of this sub-group reveal an almost similar voting pattern.

For more information, please contact Jim Akut II at the KKP-SIO office at 858-3116 local 3210.

Share this post:

Related Posts


  1. Ayie says:

    Nice result, im glad.

  2. Rona says:


  3. Nestor says:

    These results might happen after the May 2016 election…..horayyy

  4. Patricia Isabelle says:

    Are the respondenta registered voter?

Leave a Reply