Liceo de Cagayan University made a rare 4-peat with Candidate No. 10 Charinna Barro of Brgy. Macasandig winning the coveted Miss Cagayan de Oro crown during the coronation night held last August 22, 2015 at the Atrium of Limketkai Mall.

In the question and answer portion, the finalists were asked “…if given the chance, what one thing they would do to change in the world…” Charinna, who is a BS Accountancy student of said university, answered that she would do something within herself…a change within herself. Watch the Q/A portion below (video by Rob Bana).

Before being crowned as the new Miss Cagayan de Oro, Charinna had already won several special awards such as Miss Photogenic, Miss Flawlessly U, Miss Marianne Suites, Miss Natasha, Miss 2Go Travel, Best in Mags Casual Wear and Miss Globe Texter’s Choice…making her an early favorite for the title.

Candidate No. 12 Dylanna Bax of Barangay Patag was first runner-up and was also Miss Philippine Airlines, Darling of the Press and Miss Island Souvenirs.

Second runner-up was Candidate No. 1 Kiezela Quiz of Barangay Nazareth and was Best in Evening Gown, Miss The Loop, Miss Aruga, Miss Le Rouge Spa, Miss Stronghold Insurance and Miss Ororama.

Third runner-up was Candidate No. 6 Caroline Veronilla of Barangay Balulang and was also Best in Swimsuit, Miss Camella, Miss Sanctuary Spa and Best in Talent.

Fourth Runner Up went to Candidate No. 11 Yosabeth Valdehuesa of Barangay 14 who was also Miss Personality and Miss Shopwise.


Other special awards were as follows:

Candidate No. 5 Megan Julia Digal of Barangay Kauswagan: Miss Gaisano and Best in Talent

Candidate No. 8 Charlene Jane Huera of Barangay Macasandig: Best in Talent

Note that 3 candidates won as Best in Talent which was a surprise. Meanwhile, the Best Gown Creation went to Juniel Doring who created the gown wore by Candidate No. 1 Kiezela Quiz.

Both Charinna Barro and 1st runner up Dylanna Bax (as Miss Philippine Airlines) also won a free trip to Nagoya, Japan via Cebu courtesy of Philippine Airlines.


The stage for this year’s pageant was a show of lights…..

IMG_9470 IMG_9510

Despite the elegance of the pageantry, it was also a cheering contest among the crowd with the chants and shouts of the candidates’ waving balloons, banners and even drum rolls whenever the name of their candidate was announced.


Hosted by Nicole Abas Datayan and international actor-model Alejandro de la Fuente, the pageant was snappy and full of energy. More photos below.

The twelve candidates wait for the announcement of the 5 finalists.


…and the final 5 were named…


The new Miss Cagayan de Oro makes her first walk as the new queen.


The winners with the Limketkai group.

IMG_9622    IMG_9637

Facebook Comments