by Isabela Page

Pasko de Oro culminated with the presentation and awarding of winners of PaskoRela- a dress up your motorela competition which is being held for the first time during the Christmas festivities of Cagayan de Oro by the City Government thru the City Tourism Council and City Tourism and Cultural Office.

A motorela decked with dried corn leaves – by Elma Abao won the grand prize of P40 thousand pesos courtesy of Smart Communications and the City Government of Cagayan de Oro. The Pasko-rela featured 15 entries through a parade from Rodelsa Circle to Kiosko Divisoria. On its first year, it has generated buzz in the community as Cagayan de Oro is considered to be the originating  city of the motorela. Raphael Floirendo, a graduate of Business Administration and Agriculture at the Far Eastern University and Araneta University is acknowledged as the inventor of this public transportation which has been adopted by most cities around the country since 1964.




Centrio Ayala Mall also collaborated with the City Government with the holding of the Lantern competition (Indigay sa Parol), who gave out P20 thousand worth of gift certificate to the grand winner- Kenneth Galeon. The winning lantern was made of plastic cups that looked like sea shells. Second place went to John Carl Felisco and 3rd Place to Dondon Nasol with his artistic Mahogany roots lantern.




Centrio Ayala Mall also hosted the Bangga sa Daygon (caroling contest) among elementary students. West City Central School came out as grand champion followed by Corpus Christi at second place.

The Christmas Art competition on the other hand was won by multi-awarded artist Nicolas Aca Jr, second place by Lapasan National High School, and 3rd place by Sam Lorena of Mesa Filipino Moderne. Mr. Aca received P40 thousand pesos for his very remarkable artwork which are still on display the Duaw Park.

The Christmas festivities is chaired by Eileen San Juan who promises to bring a bigger Pasko de Oro next year, along side the Christmas lights extravaganza at City hall building and grounds, Gaston Park, Ysalina Bridge and other major streets.

Pasko de Oro is presented by Smart Communications, Cepalco, Centrio Ayala, ABS-CBN, and United Architects of the Philippines.

Facebook Comments