It’s going to be the host Misamis Oriental Meteors against archrival M. Lhuillier Kwarta Padala-Cebu Ninos in the SMC Liga Pilipinas Conference V Super Leg National Championship after the Meteors defeated the Cebu Landmasters RDAK-Mandaue, 70-63 at the Xavier University Gym.

Dino Daa and Rudy Lingganay starred in the final minute of the first half to give the Meteors a 33-25 lead at the break. But the Landmasters rallied behind former PBL MVP Vic Manuel and Ariel Capus but burly Ken Bono, Lyndon Gudez and an injured Egay Billones made timely baskets as the Meteors advanced to the finals.

Bono led MisOr with 14 points and eight rebounds while Dino Daa added 10. Manuel topped Mandaue with 21 points followed by Capus with 14.

In the second game, Stephen Padilla made eight triples to finish with 26 points as the Cebu Ninos finished undefeated in the Super Leg beating the Laguna Golden Lions, 90-82. The Ninos finished the preliminaries with a four-game sweep while the Lions dropped to 1-3.

Meanwhile, Glenn Bolocon of Laguna was named Most Valuable Player. Bolocon was also Liga Pilipinas Best Scorer. Other awardees included Mandaue coach Jun Tan as Coach of the Conference, Suzette Gentallan of the Meteors as Executive of the Conference and Mark Magsumbol of Mandaue taking the Sportsmanship Award. The other winners for the different statistical categories were Faundo for rebounds, Alex Angeles of the MP Warriors of GenSan for assists, Harold Sta. Cruz of Mandaue for blocks and Felix Belano of M. Lhuillier for steals.

The scores:

First Game

MISAMIS ORIENTAL (70) – Bono 14, Daa 10, Billones 9, Gerilla 9, Lingganay 8, Raneses 7, Gudez 5, Moreno 5, Capati 2, Larong 1, Misa 0, Lamocha 0.

MANDAUE (63) – Manuel 21, Capus 14, Magsumbol 13, Sta. Cruz 6, Losentes 5, Mondragon 2, Doruelo 2, Marlon Basco 0, Guiyab 0, Villaver 0, Dedicatoria 0.

Period Scores: 15-13, 33-25, 44-38, 70-63.

Second Game

M. LHUILLIER-CEBU (90) – Padilla 26, Saladaga 10, Dacia 9, Santos 8, Belano 8, Raymundo 5, Maliksi 5, Mepana 5, Cruz 4, Ababon 3, Nailon 2, Baguion 2, Jeffries 2, Hayes 1.

LAGUNA (82) – Bolocon 15, Faundo 14, Franco 14, Saguindel 8, Sanz 7, Bautista 5, Flores 5, Glorioso 4, Martinez 3, Asoro 3, Fampulme 2, Feihl 2, Legaspi 0.

Period Scores: 19-22, 52-41, 65-67, 90-82.

Facebook Comments