New RDC-X Chair Lawrence Cruz

The Regional Development Council of region 10 (RDC-X) will look into the real possibility, with recent indicators showing progressive trends, in capital investments and employment in the region, through the efforts and under the leadership of Pres. Benigno S. Aquino III.

Thus emphasized Mayor Lawrence Ll. Cruz of Iligan City who recently assumed the RDC-X Chairmanship for 2011-2013 vice Gov. Jurdin Jesus M. Romualdo of Camiguin, whom he thanked for ably steering the council, in today’s 88th full council meeting at Maria Cristina Hotel in Iligan City.

Cruz said RDC-X’s prospects include achieving beneficial results in the region and the long-awaited peace agreements with the Communist Party of the Philippines (CCP) and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), as these will certainly have a chain-effect on the peace and development in the region.

He also called on the RDC-X’s new set of officers to unite and take time to go in the same direction to follow the Mindanao Strategic Development Framework for 2010-2020 which will serve as a very useful road map for alleviating the economic situation in Northern Mindanao.

Meanwhile, the following representatives of government and non-government agencies compose RDC-X: Arsenio L. Sebastian III, President, Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA), Cagayan de Oro-Misamis Oriental Chapter, Co-Chairman.

Engr. Leon M. Dacanay, Jr., Regional Director of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), region 10, Vice Chairman, Engr. Alan L. Olavides, Officer-in-Charge-Asst. Regional Director, NEDA-X, Secretary.

Macro-Development Administration Committee: Mayor Philip T. Tan, Tangub City, Chairperson and Engr. Raynumdo M. Paras, President, Metalworking Industries Association of the Philippines, Cagayan de Oro Chapter, Co-Chairperson.

Social Development Committee: Mayor Maria Luisa D. Romualdo, Camiguin, Chairperson and Jordan Ian G. Apat, Executive Director, Phililippine Service of Mercey Foundation, Co-Chairperson.

Economic Development Committee: Mayor Leandro Jose H. Catarata of Valencia City, Chairperson and Emma A. Nieva, Board Member, Mindanao Alliance for Self-Help Societies, Southern Philippines, Co-Chairperson.

Infrastructure Development Committee: Mayor Nova Princess E. Parojinog-Echavez of Ozamiz City, Chairperson and Engr. Modesto C. Babaylan, Board Member, Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers, Cagayan de Oro-Misamis Oriental Chapter, Co-Chairperson.

article by Rutchie Cabahug-Aguhob of PIA

Facebook Comments