CAPITOL University and Cheerleading Philippines will host the 1st Big Mindanao Cheerleading Festival on February 11 to 12, 2011 at the Capitol University Gym. On these dates, Capitol University will celebrate its 40th Foundation Day anniversary. International guest coaches from Indonesia, Malaysia and Japan will be joining this festival.

More or less 40 Mindanao cheerleading teams will be attending the festival. These teams represent the cluster areas of Mindanao: Southern, Central, Northern and Western. The festival showcase is divided into three division categories: elementary, high School and college. The festival shall consist of these events: team category – mix, team category – all female, partner stunt – mix and partner stunts – all female.

This is a very big and thrilling festival since this will be the first gathering of all Mindanao teams that will not compete but will unite with one vision of becoming globally competitive in Cheerleading. The following is the tentative list of participants: Elementary – Macanhan Elementary School (Cagayan de Oro City), Balingasag Central School (Balingasag, Misamis Oriental), City Central School (Cagayan de Oro City) and Quezon Elementary School (Davao City).

Secondary – Vicente N. Chaves High School (Cagayan de Oro City), Cagayan de Oro National High School (Cagayan de Oro City), Balulang National High School (Cagayan de Oro City), Carmen National High School (Cagayan de Oro City), Liceo de Cagayan University (Cagayan de Oro City), First Fruits Christian Academy (Valencia City), Holy Trinity College (General Santos City), Sta. Ana National High School (Davao City), Iligan National High School (Iligan City), Tomas Cabili (Iligan City), La Salle Academy of Iligan (Iligan City) and Hugyawan Creative Circle (Butuan City).

College – Capitol University Stallion Cheer Stars (Cagayan de Oro City), Liceo de Cagayan University (Cagayan de Oro City), Mindanao University of Science and Technology (Cagayan de Oro City), Xavier University Cheer Warriors (Cagayan de Oro City), Tagoloan Community College Pep Squad (Tagoloan, Misamis Oriental), Holy Trinity College (General Santos City), Ateneo de Zamboanga University (Zamboanga City), Iligan Medical Center College Rhinos (Iligan City) and Davao Infinity All-Stars (Davao City).

article by Mark Francisco of GSD

Facebook Comments