The Misamis Oriental Meteors, who finished runner-up to back-to-back champion Cebu Niños in the national finals of the Tournament of the Philippines (TOP) held some few months ago, crushed host Guangxi Giants, 96-67 last December 6, 2010 to retain the crown in the 3rd China-Asean Basketball Tournament held in Pingguo County, Guangxi, China..

The Meteors’ win actually made it back-to-back where they beat the same opponent last year by eight points, 83-75.

The Meteors swept their Group A bracket, highlighted by blowout wins over Singapore, Malaysia, Macau and Thailand.

They defeated Hong Kong, 88-63 in the crossover semifinals before facing the undefeated Guangxi Giants in the finals.

Meteors holdovers Neil Rañeses, Dino Daa and Eder Saldua, got ample support from new reinforcements Ricky Ricafuente and Glenn Bolocon to silence the home crowd. Rañeses was also named the tournament’s MVP.

The 3nd China-Asean Basketball Tournament was organized by the Basketball Administrative Center of the General Sports Administration of China, co-organized by the Administration of Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region and the People’s Government of Balse City.

The scores:

RP-MisOr Meteors 96–Daa 15, Raneses 14, Ricafuente 12, Bolocon 11, Saldua 10, Gerilla 9, More¤o 8, Lamocha 7, Tagupa 6, Capati 5, Misa 4.

Guang Xi-China 67–Quin 18, Liang 17, Lu 16, Zhong 14, Gao 13, Wei 12, Zeng 11, Zhang 9, Liao 8, Wang 7, Hu 5, Yuan 4.

article by Lynde Salgados of SSC

Facebook Comments