Local chief executives, regional directors and resource partners from the five (5) regions in Mindanao (namely regions 9,10,11,12 and 13) are expected to gather in Cagayan de Oro City on October 8 for the launching of the year-long celebration for the 20th anniversary of the enactment of the Local Government Code of 1991.

Themed as “Strengthening Local Autonomy through Transparent, Accountable Governance and Peace Building”, this event will highlight innovations and initiatives in various areas of local governance from these five regions.

Interior Secretary Jesse M. Robredo is set to give the keynote address in launching.

Commitment setting by representatives from foreign partner agencies such as the European Union, World Vision, AusAID, and Konrad Adenauer Foundation will also transpire.

The Balay Mindanao Inc., in partnership with Department of the Interior and Local Government, is one of the major conveners of the celebration which will culminate on October 10, 2011.

Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991, was enacted by the Eighth Congress in 1991. It is the governing law for local governance.

Through the system of decentralization, it institutes the formulation and implementation of policies and measures on local autonomy for a more responsive and accountable local government structure.

Its provisions apply to all provinces, cities, municipalities, barangays, and other political subdivisions; including officials, offices, or agencies of the national government.

The celebration will start at one o’clock in the afternoon at Pryce Plaza Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City. (DILG 10)

Facebook Comments