Leon M. Dacanay, Jr.

 NEDA-X Regional Director Leon M. Dacanay, Jr. convenes thirty (30) private sector representatives (PSR) on July 6, 2010 to elect representatives to the Regional Development Council (RDC) of Northern Mindanao.

Led by Director Dacanay and OIC-ARD and RDC-X Secretary Alan L. Olavides and assisted by outgoing RDC-X Co-Chair Arsenio L. Sebastian III, private sector seats in the RDC and its sectoral committees were filled out to complete the RDC-X private sector membership.

Elected as nominees to the council proper’s posts are: Rodolfo L. Meñes (as Chairperson) and Arsenio L. Sebastian III (as Vice-chairperson).

Meñes is the President of the Cagayan de Oro Chamber of Commerce and Industry Foundation, Inc. (Oro Chamber, Inc.) and Sebastian is the President of the Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants Cagayan de Oro-MisOr Chapter (PICPA CDO-MisOr).

To sit as Chair (or Co-Chair) and Vice-Chair of the RDC-X sectoral committees are the following:

  1. Infrastructure and Utilities Development Committee (INFRACOM) – Dr. Modesto C. Babaylan (Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers, Cagayan de Oro-Misamis Oriental Chapter) and Dr. Gervacio I. Piator (Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants-Northern Mindanao Chapter);
  2. Macro and Development Administration Committee (MACROCOM) – Raymund M. Paras (Metalworking Industries Association of the Philippines-Cagayan de Oro City, Inc.) and Charlito Z. Manlupig (Balay Mindanaw Foundation, Inc.);
  3. Economic Development Committee – Dr. Emma A. Nieva (Mindanao Alliance for Self-help Societies-Southern Philippines Educational Cooperative Center) and Dr. Rosalina S. Huerbana (Safer River, Life Saver Foundation, Inc.); and
  4. Social Development Committee –Jordan Ian G. Apat (Philippine Service of Mercy Foundation, Inc.) and Dr. Merlita F. Adaza (Philippine Mental Health Association, Cagayan de Oro-Misamis Oriental Chapter, Inc.).

To represent the labor sector is Nicandro L. Borja (Associated Labor Unions-Trade Union Congress of the Philippines).

To sit in the RDC’s Regional Project Monitoring Committee (RPMC-X) are Dr. Modesto C. Babaylan (Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers Misamis Oriental-Cagayan de Oro Chapter, Inc.), Roel R. Ravanera (Xavier Science Foundation, Inc.) and Dr. Merlita F. Adaza.

As embodied in the RDC manual of operations, PSRs shall comprise 1/4 of the membership of the RDC, one of whom is a representative of the Labor Sector.

All PSRs shall serve a period of three years without prejudice to reappointment.

The term of the RDC Chairperson/Co-Chairperson who comes from the private sector is co-terminus with his term as PSR in the council.

Director Dacanay emphasizes the private sector participation as part of a two-way process engagement towards a stronger collaboration between government and the private sector.

“The RDC, as the highest policy-making body in the region, is a good venue for the private sector to know and get involved in government activities and seek the support of RDC whenever needed,” Dacanay said.

Facebook Comments