THE Gold Star Daily bagged the Regional Newspaper of the Year award of the biggest Rotary Club in the Philippines.

‘‘I take pleasure in informing you that the Board of Judges of the 2010 Rotary Club of Manila Journalism Awards had decided to award a Special Citation to the Mindanao Gold Star Daily as Regional Newspaper of the Year 2008-2009,” Rodolfo Reyes, chairperson for the Rotary Club of Manila’s Journalism Awards, wrote to Herbie Gomez, the paper’s editor-in-chief.

The award was received yesterday by Gold Star Daily vice president Freddie Par on behalf of Gold Star Daily president and chief executive officer Ernesto Chu during a Rotary luncheon affair at the Manila Polo Club. The group prides itself for being the first Rotary Club in Asia.

The Rotary award is another feather in the cap of Gold Star Daily as far as the men and women behind the “national paper of Mindanao” are concerned, said Chu who founded the pioneering daily. He thanked the Rotary Club of Manila for the recognition and honor it gave the paper.

The newspaper has been enshrined as a Hall of Fame awardee for business and economic reporting of the Philippine Press Institute-Konrad Adenauer.

Originally started in July 1, 1989 as a printing business called Oro Master Printing Press at a small building along Pabayo-Chaves Sts., the firm only had one operator for its printing press and a four-person editorial staff to produce its daily edition of eight pages.

Today, the Gold Star Daily is the longest running daily newspaper in this part of the country. The media company also established the biggest newspaper network in all of Mindanao, enabling the paper to circulate in key towns, cities and provinces, including a number of remote villages where big Manila-based broadsheets and tabloids are virtually non-existent.

Launched in 1966, the Rotary Club of Manila Journalism Awards was organized to honor outstanding contributions of individuals in the tri-media: print, television and radio to encouraging the continued development of Philippine journalism.

The awards seek to encourage excellence in Philippine journalism by giving recognition to journalists and media agencies which performed outstandingly. It was adopted as the ‘‘perpetual participation” of the Club during the annual observance of National Press Week.

With the proclamation of martial law in 1972, the Club stopped giving awards. The Club felt that since there was no real freedom of the press, there was no sense in holding the awards. With the return of democracy and the renewed vitality of the Fourth Estate, the Journalism Awards returned in 1986 and have since carried on the Club’s commitment to encourage the proper development of Philippine journalism and give recognition to the excellence of Filipino journalists and their works.

For this year’s Journalism Awards, the RCM has expanded the categories to better reflect the changing landscape of Philippine Journalism. Aside from Outstanding Newspaper, Investigative Reporter, Broadcaster and Opinion Writer of the Year, the expanded awards categories include Regional Newspaper of the Year, TV and Radio Station of the Year, Broadcast Journalist of the Year for TV and Radio, as well as Special Recognition Awards. For News (TV and Print), News (Business Section – Print), TV Public Service and Radio Public Service. A special citation will be given to an outstanding work in the New Social Media or Online Journalism.

The University of the Philippines’ College of Mass Communication Foundation serves as the technical project manager of the 2010 RCM Journalism Awards.

from Gold Star Daily

Facebook Comments