Misamis Oriental Governor Oscar S. Moreno has accepted the offer from to host the 2010 MILO Little Olympics National Finals on October 14-17 that will be participated in by about 3,000 outstanding school-based athletes nationwide.

Nestle Philippines Inc. assistant vice president Pat Goc-ong, the senior MILO sports executive, personally met Governor Moreno in his office on April 14, 2010 and formally presented the proposal in the presence of Mindanao area organizer Megdonio Llamera, Don Gregorio Pelaez Sports Center manager Oscar Cinco, Nestle Philippines regional marketing manager Darwin Pasion and Milo Northern Mindanao Sports Coordinator John Montalvan.

“Sigi, game!” was the crisp reply of the sports-minded Governor to Goc-ong when asked for his response after all the elements were found in place by the national organizing committee.

These elements include the experience of the local organizer, the existence of festivals in the hosting locality, standard sports facilities, and support from local government officials.

Cagayan de Oro City, where the recently spruced up sports center and the accommodation amenities are located, will automatically be the co-host of the national sporting spectacle. It is, in fact, the regular venue of the MILO Little Olympics Mindanao since its inception in 1988.

Governor Moreno also suggested that the recently inaugurated Misamis Oriental Heritage Monument be integrated into the MILO Little Olympics National Finals logo and Mr. Goc-ong acceded to the proposal.

Further, the governor urged the national organizer to provide the specialized football goal so that the well-maintained ground will be used for the first time afterit was overhauled. He also asked the organizers to inspect the conditions of the main grandstand and the north and south grandstand so that these will be in A-1 condition for the estimated 55,000 spectators of the three -day sports competitions.

The 1st National MILO Little Olympics was held in Cebu City Sports Center last October 23 to 25, 2009 with the City Government of Cebu as host. Mindanao placed third-place overall while the hosts emerged as champion, followed by the National Capital Region, while Luzon placed fourth.

Facebook Comments