Little School House, representing Xavier University of Cagayan de Oro City recently bagged the People’s Choice Awards in the Soundskool 2009 College Band Competition Finals Night last November 14 at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium.

Little School House is a five piece fusion funk rock band based in Cagayan de Oro city formed in late 2007. For most of the band’s existence, the members have been vocalist Mark King, guitarist Daniel Lardizabal, bassist Isiah Mogut, drummer Alex Gopez and on Keyboards, Nestor Punay. The band’s varied musical style has fused traditional rock and funk with various elements and psychedelic rock.

The band is currently performing as one of the rising bands in CDO city and has performed to a large number of 7,000 audiences. “Pilipino I” features nationalistic songs and will be released soon in early 2010.

The band’s active musical ventures: front act of Bamboo last 2008, winning 1st runner-up on a Youth for Christ band competition; released a music video that covers, “Wake up everybody,” Champion of the city Battle of the band’s last August 29, 2009, and teaches music to others.

The Eevee Band from Davao won the band competition. Eevee considers themselves an alternative rock band with both rock and jazz influences. They were initially part of different bands back in Davao until they decided to band together and join the competition.

The group was part of the Mindanao finalists representing Philippine Women’s College of Davao. The school will also receive a musical showcase consisting of one (1) full band set-up, worth P100,000.00.

Facebook Comments