Mindanao Railway copy

Quoting local dailies, DOTC Undersecretary Guiling A. Mamondiong has said the long-delayed Mindanao Railways Project would start before the yeard ends.

Accordingly, he expects civil works on the first segment from Cagayan de Oro to Laguindingan, where the Laguindingan Airport is currently being constructed. After the CDO-Laguindingan line, the Laguindingan-Iligan segment will follow, then Iligan-Linamon and CDO-Jasaan. This first phase of the project consists of a 120 kilometer stretch of railway that will pass through the Cagayan de Oro-Iligan industrial corridor. Some 45 tunnels and bridges will be constructed along this phase with a total length of 25 kilometers.

From www.pnr.gov.ph, below are the segments of the MRP.

1st Segment, Phase I (Cagayan de Oro City-Iligan City)

2nd Segment, Phase I (Cagayan de Oro City-Gingoog City)

3rd Segment, Phase I (Iligan City-Marawi City)

4th Segment, Phase I (Marawi City-Cotabato City)

Phase II (Gingoog City-Butuan City-Surigao City)

Phase III (Davao City-Monkayo-Butuan City)

Phase IV (Davao City-General Santos City-Cotabato City)

Phase V (Iligan City-Aurora-Dipolog City-Liloy-Ipil-Zamboanga City)

Phase VI (Cagayan de Oro City-Malaybalay City-Damulong-Davao City)

The planned railway consists of a criss-crossing network of lines linking Cagayan de Oro to Iligan, Iligan to Zamboanga City, and Cagayan de Oro to Agusan and Surigao, as well as extensions to Davao and General Santos cities.

The MRS will consist of six phases, covering a total length of 2,000 kilometers.

Facebook Comments